|
Penfield Public Library |
Serving Penfield’s Business CommunityPenfield Library’s Small Business Page Inside the Penfield Library OnlyAncestry.com: Census, marriage, birth, death records and more.
New York Times: Full text articles 1851—present.
Reference USA: Businesses by location, Yellow Page heading, zip code, SIC code.
Inside Any Monroe County LibraryYou may also use these sites from home but you will be prompted for your library card number.
AP Images: AP Images, a division of the Associated Press, is one of the world’s largest collations of historical and contemporary imagery, including photographs and graphics. This substantial and easy-to-use collection features images capturing the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment during the past century. Images may be used for educational (nonprofit) use and are simple to locate. New images are added every day.
Biography Resource Center: Biographies and full-text articles covering more than300,00 people.
Business and Company Resource Center: Company profiles, rankings, market share information, investment reports, company histories, industry profiles, and periodicals.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance: Database of all Federal programs available to State and local governments.
Democrat and Chronicle/Messenger Newspapers/America’s News Magazines: Full-text articles 1999—present. Funding for this service is provided by the Rochester Regional Library Council through a grant from the New York State Education Department.
EBSCO General Science Collection: Full-text articles of more than 60 of the most popular science publications.
EBSCOHost Espanol: Masterfile Select, Primary Search, Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia, General Science Collection, and EBSCO Animals databases in the Spanish language.
EBSCO Masterfile Select: Full-text for nearly 800 general reference publications, dating as far back as 1984.
EBSCO Science Reference Center: Provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-specific reference books, encyclopedias, periodicals, newspapers, biographies and images.
Expanded Academic ASAP: From arts and the humanities to social sciences and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers.
GALE Custom Newspapers (New York State Newspapers) Eight full-text newspapers from Buffalo, New York City and Syracuse.
Gale National Newspaper Index: provides indexing of America’s top five newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, and the Washington Post.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: 12 searchable online reference titles focusing on business, health, and history.
General Business File ASAP: Search thousands of business periodicals, many full text, for information on companies, industries, management issues, and business trends. Includes trade publications, newspapers, journals, and company directory listings.
General Reference Center: General interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface.
Health and Wellness Resource Center: Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories and information on health topics.
HeritageQuest: Genealogy resources including the Federal Censuses, over 25,000 family and local histories, bank and military records, and genealogical and local history sources.
InfoTrac Junior: Magazine database designed for junior high and middle school students.
InfoTrac OneFile: One stop source for news and magazine articles on a wide range of topics. Search more than 9000 periodicals for articles as far back as 1980.
iInforme! : Una coleccion de revistas hispanicas con textos completes. Arbarca negocios, salud, technologia, cultura, temas de actualidad, y ostras materias.
Learning Express: A comprehensive, interactive learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help students and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass.
NetLibrary Reference Center: Search and browse reference resources including encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, handbooks, thesauri, and more.
Novelist: Readers’ advisory service for over 125,000 fiction titles and 90,000 reviews.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Issues, current events, and controversies in today’s headlines and tomorrow’s homework assignments.
Primary Search via Searchasaurus: Children’s magazines and pamphlets designed for the elementary school student.
Topic Search: Current events from a wide variety of sources.
Twayne’s Author Series: Full-text of 200 Twayne Literary Masters books on on world, U.S. or English authors.
World Cat via OCLC First Search: OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Funding for WorldCat is provided by the Rochester Regional Library Council through a grant from the New York State Education Department.
From Any Internet ComputerPenfield Library’s Small Business Page
Rochester Images: Over 22,000 historical and contemporary images from Rochester and Monroe County.
Rochester History: Journal covering the history of Rochester and western New York. Articles available from 1939—present.
Clic-on-Health: Comprehensive site for Rochester health information. Funding for CLIC-on-Health is provided by a grant from Senator Jim Alesi and the Rochester Regional Library Council.
Community Information: Links to sites providing information about cultural activities and events, human services organizations, government, and sports and recreation for the Rochester area.
Thomas Register: Industrial services and products.
|



Databases and Online Resources |